I got a serger!

I ended up ordering the Brother 1034D from amazon, and shipped it to Switzerland (the $ is so cheap right now and it was still cheaper than getting a cheap one here..), and now I have a serger! Lucky for me I can start serging right away, we had the right transformer in the garage :) ALthough I still need to get thread…

Haha, at first I was so scared to press the pedal all the way down, because the light started to ficker when I applied just a bit of pressure. So I called my dad (scared the machine would break if I pressed the pedal down further), and after he got tired of me putting my foot on the pedal and then stopping and saying “no, I can’t do it!” he just pressed it down. And everything is fine. haha…

I have to admit, I don’t know what those cone-y things are (next to the machine in the picture), there are four of them so I suppose it has something to do with the spools? This is exciting! I have a machine I need to learn how to work!

I finally made the pattern for the skirt for the mint dress, and marked the pieces on the fabric. It was hard figuring out how to fit all of the pieces (with the annoying shape of the back pieces, the hem facing, and me wanting to sew the bodice pieces doubled up because of the sheerness):


(played around with the contrast so you can see the pieces marked, that’s not really what the color looks like!)

I’m off to cut!

4 thoughts on “I got a serger!

  1. My answer is the opposite of Thomas: the cones are like booster seats for smaller spools/cones of thread.

    One of the best pieces of advice I read on Pattern Review was to match the yellow and pink threads to your garment color and use a neutral color for the green and blue like grey, beige, white, pale pink etc. Since Yellow and Pink are regular straight stitches, they use less thread. It’s a way to economize on cone thread expenses.

    On that note, be sure to switch around the cones if you buy the big ones. You’ll notice Green uses the most thread so if you change the cone every time, you get equal usage of the thread.

    And, at the risk of repeating myself, it’s a good idea to have a little notebook with the settings that you use that are balanced. A doubleknit/ponte di roma won’t sew like a mesh knit so it’s a good idea to sew a sample and write down the different dial settings that gave you the best results. Saves time for the next time you use a similar fabric (or the 10,000 meters of x fabric you bought for cheap and are trying to sew up over the years, LOL!)

    • You can use them as a booster for small spools, but you don’t really need to. But there are some big spools where you need them. I sent Nina pictures of this kind of spools per Email. Because I don’t think I can attach dem here…

Leave a Reply

