Floral Skirt

This is an od picture of a skirt I once made and haven’t worn since that summer. I got the fabric at the thrift store, it was a children’s duvet-cover.

It was an easy skirt, just an elastic waist, very very basic. As I was still pretty much a beginner, the “finish” isn’t really nice:



But since I still have more of the fabric, I’ve decided I’m gonna make a dress with it, reusing this skirt.

(btw: what’s funny is that a design student in my town took the image at the top from my german blog without asking me or even letting me know, and last year I went to see the exhibit of the bachelor “projects” or whatever you’d call them (thesis?), and it was the strangest moment of my life, seeing myself on the wall, on a huge poster, and all over the pages of a magazine she printed, with this image of me cut into strips, ripped into pieces, cut into triangles etc. It was unreal! But I never managed to really do anything about it. She didn’t mention me ANYWHERE. Like, I’m sorry but you can’t do that when you’re writing a thesis type thing (even the maturaarbeit at our school is very strict about citing sources)! I always wondered whether I should’ve called the school, if they would’ve taken away her Bachelor’s degree. I mean, her entire thesis was about the different ways she cut up my picture! (She choose it I guess because there are three of me and the title of her thesis was “prosopagnosia”))

2 thoughts on “Floral Skirt

  1. Oh my. Versuch diese Studentin zu kontaktieren! Find ich das Letzte. Blogs sind zwar öffentlich und rechtlich sowieso nicht verankert – aber wenn sie einfach ein Bild von irgendeinem Kleidungsstück von dir gebraucht hätte, wärs was anderes, als ein Bild von dir in Nahaufnahme. Es geht nicht mal um die Quellenangabe, sondern vielmehr um den unerlaubten Gebrauch eines Portrait-Bildes von einer privaten Person. Ausserdem kommt noch hinzu, dass sie ohne dein Bild einfach ein zerschnätzlets Foti hätte. Kontaktiere sie oder ruf mal beim Sektretariat an und frag, was du da machen sollst!

    anyway. continue sewing, love your blog and you’ve inspired me to use my sewing-machine again.

    • Ich hab sie damals kontaktiert und sie sagte sie würde mich zukünftig erwähnen wenn sie ihre Arbeit irgendwo vorstellt. Ich hab ihr nicht zurückgeschrieben weil mich dieses “tut mir leid hab damals vergessen woher ich’s hatte” total genervt hat (ist ja nicht so schwierig so ein Bild selbst zu machen und bearbeiten…). Hab damals auch der Hochschule angerufen um nach ihrer email zu fragen, da hab ich die Situation auch kurz erklärt aber das hat die am Telefon nicht beeindruckt (also sie ist nicht weiter darauf eingegangen, aber weiss ja auch nicht welche Stelle sie da hat). Naja, ich hab immer noch Fotos die ich da gemacht habe als “Beweis” dazu hab ich ja auch mich selbst, das Kleid und das Bild auf meinem Blog, also könnte ich immernoch anrufen (obwohls ja eben schon ein Jahr her ist…).
      Und freut mich dass ich inspirieren konnte! Nähen ist ein tolles Hobby :)

Leave a Reply

